top of page

Obtaining A Migration Skills Assessment

A skills assessment is issued by a relevant skills assessment authority. Skills assessing authorities check that your skills meet the standards they set for entry into a relevant occupation.

In the combined list of eligible skilled occupations, all relevant occupations are listed under four occupation lists. The majority of occupations on each list have their own skills assessment authority. Skills assessments issued by the relevant assessment authority are the only ones we can accept.

You are responsible for contacting the relevant assessing authority and obtaining a skills assessment if necessary. Assessing authorities have their own assessment procedures, timeframes, and fees.

The acquisition of a suitable skills assessment is mandatory for some visa subclasses (and streams) and may be requested for others. Read all the information available about the visa you are interested in applying for. Using this information, you can determine whether you need a skills assessment and when you should obtain it.

You might need a skills assessment if you apply for the following visas and streams:

  • General Skilled Migration (GSM) visas

  • Employer-Sponsored visas

  • Temporary Skill Shortage visa (TSS)

  • Temporary Graduate visa (subclass 485)

Getting a skills assessment

Step 1 Contact the assessing authority

You should contact the appropriate assessing authority for your occupation. Before applying for a visa, you should determine which skills assessing authority is appropriate for your nominated occupation and arrange your skills assessment.

Procedures, timeframes, and charges differ from assessing authority to assessing authority. Different assessing authorities may take different amounts of time to assess your qualifications and experience.

Receive your assessment

Your visa application must include a scanned certified copy of the appropriate skills assessment. If you don't get a positive assessment result you cannot apply for a skilled migration visa.

The following are some of the most commonly used Australian skills assessment authorities:

Australian Computer Society

The Australian Computer Society (ACS) is the Professional Association representing Australia’s ICT sector with a mission is to deliver authoritative independent knowledge and insight into technology, build relevant technology capacity and capability in Australia and to be a catalyst for innovative creation and adoption of technology for the benefit of commerce, governments and society.

Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership

The Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL) Ltd is gazetted by the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) as the assessing authority for the school teacher occupations listed in the Skilled Occupation List (SOL) and the Consolidated Sponsored Occupation List (CSOL) for the purpose of skilled migration.

Engineers Australia

Engineers Australia has over 100 000 members from the full range of engineering occupations and at all career stages. Their interests are as diverse as their backgrounds and skills. Engineers Australia is the designated authority for assessing skills and competencies related to engineering occupations in Australia. Engineers Australia works with the Department of Immigration and Border Protection, migration agents and international organisations to develop streamlined migration skills assessment procedures for engineers.


The Australian Department of Home Affairs has approved ICAA to undertake skills assessments for individuals who want to migrate to Australia as an accounting professional.

Trades Recognition Australia (TRA)

Trades Recognition Australia (TRA) is a skills assessment service provider specialising in assessments for people with trade skills gained overseas or in Australia, for the purpose of migration and skills recognition.


VETASSESS is a Vocational Education & Training (VET) Assessment Provider for Australia.

bottom of page